Articles and Reviews

Articles and Videos Published about Painted Bar Stables

 
Video Feature on Painted Bar Stables
by Panorama
ICTV-16

Horses in my Dreams
by Mindy Arledge
Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine

More Than Lakes
By Steve Bailey
American Forests

Kelsey Does The Derby
By Karey Solomon
Mountain Home Magazine

How Painted Bar Stables kept its horses safe at Ithaca Festival
Tompkins Weekly

Travel Blogs

Beautiful Seneca Lake horseback riding with Painted Bar Stables
September 2018
Two Restless Homebodies

First Time Horseback Riding Experience at Painted Bar Stables NY
April 2018
Sharon Mendelaoui
Daily Dream 360

3 Ways to Spend 3 Days in the Finger Lakes
April 2018
Roaming the Americas
**EXCERPT**
Another stop on your weekend itinerary should be going out on horseback at Painted Bar Stables. I was admittedly a little nervous to go since I haven’t been horseback riding since I was in high school (and let’s just say that’s more than a couple years ago). But the owner Erika was phenomenal in her ability to teach and guide us along–perfectly balancing her knowledge and experience with a sense of humor that put us immediately at ease. The trails weave through fields and forests, and if you’re up for it, you might get to ford a stream.

Horseback Riding in Watkins Glen with Painted Bar Stables
September 2017
NY Foodie Family

Horseback Riding in the Finger Lakes
January 2017
Wander The Map

How a Horse Showed me Seneca Lake is Special
May 2015
The Girl and the Globe / SightDoing

A Riding Stable that uses Rescue Horses in its Program
Dounle T Trailers
**EXCERPT**
Spock, a white Appaloosa Mule with pointy ears, is a favorite at Painted Bar. (Photo above)  When Spock first came to the barn, he was impossible to handle and didn’t trust anyone. After working with Erika, Spock is now a barn favorite and an awesome trail “horse.” He’s intelligent and stubborn, but very sweet and protective of himself and his rider – making him great on the trail.
Visitors who get the chance to come to Painted Bar Stables make unforgettable memories and have a great time. Rachael from New Jersey, who visited Painted Bar for a trail ride while on vacation with friends, said: “I had a wonderful time riding with Erika at Painted Bar. She put me on Spock who was a perfect gentleman throughout the ride. It was clear from chatting with Erika, that rescue animals like him are an important part of her operation. I would definitely go again and recommend this farm to friends…in fact – I already have!”

Reviews of Painted Bar Stables

 

Painted Bar Stable is very lucky to have awesome trails with good footing right off the farm. Erika and her buckaroos' gang are excellent people to ride with and train your horse building a trustworthy trail horse. Did a wonderful job with my horse, Ricco's, training just heading the hills, rolling the meadows, alone, or in a large group and ALL YOUR TROUBLES WILL MELT AWAY!
Dacia Hirsch, Canandaigua, N.Y.
January 7, 2013

Divider

Having grown up with quarter horses, riding has always been a big love of mine and despite living in Manhattan, I still ride regularly and am always seeking out new and interesting places to ride that feature unusual breeds and exquisite scenery.... I recently found a farm by the name of Painted Bar Stables, 5 miles outside of Watkins Glen in the Finger Lakes area of NY and it's a real gem...
Erika, the farm owner, is young and vibrant, has an infectious enthusiasm, a stable full of gorgeous Paint horses and gaited Tennessee Walkers and Kentucky Mountain horses (Mack is my favorite), and it's just got that special something - the farm borders the Finger Lakes National Forest, and the region itself is chock full of vineyards, beautiful lakes, gorges and waterfalls - it's a visual feast for the eyes. The horses also travel tight in packs (much like your ride with the Icelandics - these horses are bomb proof, but in a good way that lets an advanced rider have fun on a horse they haven't ridden before). The first time I rode there, we cut through new trails, went over steep ledges into a ravine (she asked if we were up for an adventure..), rambling through streams, and galloping through neighboring cornfields - it was a heavenly ride to say the least. I was so infatuated with my gaited mount Mack, that I signed up immediately to return in a few weeks time for my first competitive 30 mile endurance ride with Erika and a few of her riding pals. It was hosted by her neighbor and was in it's 10th year, the course was meticulously laid out, full of gorgeous fall foliage scenery, well organized with vet checks at every 10 miles, and at the end featured a neighborhood wide roast with live music and a bonfire.
From one horse lover to another....all the best.
Laura Egan , New York, N.Y.
October 19, 2010

Divider

Thanks again for the ride, we both had a great time!!  If I have any friends visiting the area I'll make sure to recommend you.
Katie DelMonte, Buffalo, N.Y.
September 19, 2010

Divider

From my aspect Painted Bar Stables, and their stallion Sierras All the Gold, are both wonderful! My mare was taken up in April and she received excellent care, as well as being in foal for March 2011. Being that my mare is a child to me, they kept me well informed on how she was behaving and her breeding schedule. I feel honored to have a foal out of this exceptional stallion as well as represent the stable with both my mare and foal! This is a great place to send you mare to be bred by an exceptional stallion with a great dispositon and excellent conformation.
Kelsey Henry
September 4, 2010

Divider

Don't come to Painted Bar Stables if you only want to sit on a horse for 45 minutes. If you want to witness the beauty of the Finger Lakes, form an everlasting bond with an equine friend, become part of a fun and friendly local community, learn about horse care and quirks, have a hands-on experience with horses and barn life, and become a confident horse handler and rider, then Painted Bar Stables is for you. Horse enthusiasts of all ages and skill levels made to feel welcome.
Lisa Birch, Burdett, N.Y.
August 26, 2010

Divider

I have to give Painted Bar Stables a 5 star rating for the care of the horses, the lessons that are given, and the trail rides and the trails. If you haven't given Painted Bar Stables a try, now is the time, don't waste another minute. Sign up for one of the above. Very inexpensive.
Sylvia Cadwell, Dundee, N.Y.
August 26, 2010

Divider

Just got back to the UK today, just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful day on the 18th Aug. Leah did enjoy herself and talked about nothing else for the remainder of the holiday. If we are ever up state NY again, we will look you up ! Thanks Again.
The Mathlin Family, Stowmarket, Suffolk, UK
August 25, 2010

Divider

Thanks so much to you and colin for the photos and for the info on the Trailride. Andressa and I had a wonderful time! You really have a special farm filled with lovely horses! I can't wait to come back for a ride. 
Laura Egan, New York, N.Y.
August 23, 2010

Divider

I want to thank Erika for the wonderful trail ride yesterday - it was the highlight of my niece's vacation. She lives in California and rides every week but had never been on a trail ride before and never rode through water or anything like that so it was quite different for her. She really liked Dozer and Beau and I got along great as well. We will be sure to come ride again. Thanks so much.
Jim Smith, Penn Yan, N.Y.
July 27, 2010

 

Email Painted Bar StablesFacebook Painted Bar StablesTwitter Painted Bar StablesYouTube Painted Bar StablesPainted Bar Stables on InstagramPainted Bar Stables' BlogTrip Advisor

We accept cash, check and credit cards
Gift Certificates are available.

4093 Lake Street (Rte. 79) Burdett, NY 14818
ride@paintedbarstables.com